Llandybie RFC | 1st Team 20 - 8 Aberaeron RFC | 1st Team

Match Report
20 May 2017 / Team News

No silverware this time

Llandybie 20 Aberaeron 8

The curtain finally came down on the season for Aberaeron, and unfortunately no silverware, coming second best in an intense affair in the final of the Division 3C cup competition at Llandovery. Earlier league games had seen the 2 teams evenly matched, and this was no exception with no quarter given in front of a vociferous support. Aberaeron were unfortunate to lose captain and prop Alex Danton in the first minutes and this served to disrupt their early momentum and resulted in Llandybie rather fortuitously taking an early lead with a loose ball finding James Tommasson free on the win to cross near the posts. With the conversion successful , outside half Ben Featherstone then added a penalty to open up a 10 point lead. Aberaeron came back strongly but were thwarted on several occasions by last ditch defending, and another break from within their own half saw Featherstone claim the final pass for a try which was also converted. As the game progressed, so did Aberaeron’s momentum, but Llandybie’s debatable spoiling tactics restricted scoring opportunities, until the referee had little option but to brandish 2 yellow cards in quick succession for continuous indiscretion. With the 2 man advantage Aberaeron would have hoped for maximum advantage but in the end had to be satisfied with a solitary try from wing Bleddyn Thomas. At this stage, it was virtually one way traffic, with all eight forwards eager to cross the whitewash but the much anticipated comeback failed to materialise as their opponents rearguard just about stood firm. A single Rhodri Jenkins penalty was scant reward, despite continuous probing by  Ollie Sawyer and Aaron Lewis and to compound the pain, a rare foray into their opponents half resulted in another penalty for Llandybie, for what would be the final score. A disappointing end to a disappointing season. On the positive side  coach Justin Lloyd had the luxury of  introducing  the future Seagulls with 5 of this year’s youth contingent tasting senior rugby. In Bleddyn Thomas, Steffan Dale, Iwan Jones and the impressive Iwan Evans and Morgan Llewelyn, the future looks to be in safe hands with plenty of optimism for next season.

Players Fixture player info not published.

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos